Speaker Bio

Vikass Monebhurrun

Prof. Vikass Monebhurrun

Corresponding Member,
IEEE Region 8 Standards Coordination Subcommittee and
IEEE Technical Activities Board Committee on Standards


Vikass Monebhurrun received the PhD degree in electronics in 1994 and the Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches (HDR) in physics in 2010 from Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) and Université Paris- Sud (Paris XI), respectively. He was engaged in research on electromagnetic non-destructive testing for nuclear power and aeronautical applications until 1998, following which he joined the Department of Electromagnetics at Supélec (CentraleSupélec since 2015). His research interests encompass time domain numerical modeling as well as radio frequency measurements. He actively participated in French National Research Programs on dosimetry of wireless communication systems since 1998: 2G (1999-2002) 3G (2003-2005) and 4G (2007-2010). His research contributed to international standardization committees of CENELEC (European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization), International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and IEEE.

He is author and co-author of more than hundred peer reviewed international conference and journal papers, and he holds three international patents on antennas for mobile communications. He is an active contributor within the standardization committees of IEC 62209, IEC 62232, IEEE 1528 and IEC/IEEE 62704.

He was a member of the European COST Action BM 1309 on beneficial effects and medical applications of electromagnetic fields (2014-2018). Prof. Monebhurrun served as member of the Editorial Board of the IEEE COMPUMAG and IEEE CEFC conferences, and IEEE Transactions on Magnetics special issues from 1998 to 2020. He is the founder of the IEEE RADIO international conference for which he served as General Chair for all the eight editions since 2012. He serves as President of the Radio Society (Mauritius) since 2013. He currently chairs the IEC/IEEE 62704-3 and IEEE Antennas and Propagation Standards committees. He further serves as member within several committees of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society. From 2019 to 2022, he was an AdCom member of the IEEE Sensors Council. He serves as Corresponding Member of the IEEE Region 8 Standards Coordination Subcommittee and IEEE Technical Activities Board Committee on Standards since 2019. He served as Associate-Editor (2016-2021) and Guest-Editor (2018/2019) for the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Transactions and Editor of the IoP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering (2013-2019).

He is currently Editorial Board member of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine and maintains a column dedicated to standards related activities. He was the recipient of the Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale (URSI) Young Scientist Award in 1996, the IEEE Standards Association International Working Group Chair Award in 2017, the IEEE Ulrich L. Rohde Humanitarian Technical Field Project Award in 2018, the International Electrotechnical Commission 1906 Award in 2018 and the IEEE Standards Association International Award in 2019.

Session Details