General Information on Kenya

    • The Republic of Kenya is 580,367 sq km (224,081 sq mi) with a population of over 47 million people.
    • She gained independence in 1963, and is a presidential representative democratic republic, of elected officials representing the people.
    • The president is the head of state and government.
    • English and Swahili are the two national languages. English and Swahili are spoken in most areas, especially in hotels, shops, restaurants and other tourist places.
    • Kenya is a member of United Nations, World Bank, International Monetary Fund, COMESA, and other international organisations, like African Union, East African Community and the Commonwealth.
    • Kenya is bordered by South Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, Uganda, Tanzania and the Indian Ocean
    • Kenya’s capital city is Nairobi. The oldest city and second capital is Mombasa (at the Coast). Kisumu City is the third largest city (on the shores of Lake Victoria)
    • The major sectors are Tourism and Agriculture. Agriculture is the largest sector exporting mainly tea, coffee and fresh flowers
    • Working hours are 08:00hrs to 17:00hrs. However, some shopping malls operate until late night. Participants who wish to shop may seek advice from their hotels on the nearest shopping facilities


    • Nairobi is the capital and the largest city of Kenya.
    • The name comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nairobi, which translates to “cool water”, a reference to the Nairobi River which flows through the city.
    • The city proper had a population of 4,397,073 in the 2019 census, while the metropolitan area has a population of 9,354,580.
    • The city is popularly referred to as the Green City in the Sun.
    • The temperatures in Nairobi in September are comfortable with low of 15°C and and high up to 25°C.

Banking Services and Foreign Exchange

    • Nairobi is the financial capital of the East and Central Africa Region
    • International banks include ABSA Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, Citibank and Bank of Africa
    • Banking hours are from 09:00hrs to 16:00hrs on weekdays and from 09:00hrs to 12:00hrs on Saturdays
    • Most banks have Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) accepting various international debit and credit cards
    • Exchange (Forex) Bureaus are readily available within Nairobi Central Business District(CBD), malls, banks at a relative rate of 1 USD=KES 125

Telephone Services, Time Zone and Electricity Supply

    • Most telephone services are quite efficient Kenya. Some of the main mobile telephone service providers are: Safaricom, Airtel, Telkom
    • Mobile services providers also provide gateway to internet using 3G, 4G and 5G in select locations.
    • Mobile phone SIM cards are easily available at the cost of approximately USD 0.5
    • Please note that registration is required for activation. Fixed telephone services are also available at hotels and other facilities
    • In Kenya the standard voltage is 240 V, However, electric appliances from countries whose standard voltage is between 220V-240V can be used. The power sockets are three-pin, square, type G.
    • Kenya is within the East Africa Standard Time Zone (GMT +3)

For any queries regarding registration for the conference, travel and accommodation, please contact the Registration and International Liaison Team